Light To Shine

Preview 3 MP3s:

Although this is my third album, it is the first to showcase a full range of original songs, and I’ve been waiting a lifetime to make it. In a way, it’s a sort of “greatest hits” album, because it showcases the best songs I’ve written during the past twenty years or so. Featuring keyboard work by the amazing Gary Breit (of Bryan Adams’ band), it is also my first piano-oriented album. All tracks were recorded live at The Drive Shed in Toronto, with the inimitable Jason Fowler in the producer’s chair and John “Beetle” Bailey as engineer. Like all of my albums, this one is available through iTunes and other music download sites, or it can be ordered through the IndiePool links on this website. I hope you will enjoy it.

The Tracks:

  1. Taking my Leave 3:39
  2. London 4:13
  3. Lonely Summertime 3:36
  4. Sentimental Movies 2:59
  5. I Can Only Miss You Once 3:34
  6. I Love my Shoes 2:22
  7. Dedicated to You 3:30
  8. When Summer Never Comes 4:08
  9. Just a Raindrop 3:02
  10. Light to Shine 5:21
  11. Better than Before 2:42
  12. Homecoming 5:17

Total time: 51:30


Music for all tracks by Kevin Hutchings
All lyrics by Kevin Hutchings except “London,” by William Blake, and “Homecoming,” by Grahame Davies

Produced by Jason Fowler

Recorded at The Drive Shed, Toronto, June 21-23, 2010
Engineered and mixed by John “Beetle” Bailey
Assisted by Mat Pataki
Mastered by George Seara at George Seara Sound, Toronto

Front cover art: Original oil painting by Scott Dickson, Nelson BC
Back cover photo: Maja Swannie Jacob, maja photo, Prince George BC

The musicians:

Kevin Hutchings: lead and background vocals
Jason Fowler: guitars and background vocals
Gary Breit: keyboards
Burke Carroll: pedal steel guitar
Maury LaFoy: bass
Mark Mariash: drums

© 2011 Kevin Hutchings. All rights reserved. SOCAN.

© 2007-2013
Design + Development by Andres Aquino